APS Small Angle X-ray Scattering (SAXS) Beamlines

Ten different small-angle X-ray scattering (SAXS) beamlines are accessible to the APS general user (overview). The combined capabilities of these beamlines span a broad range of reciprocal space and X-ray photon energy allowing for investigations from many disciplines of science including biology, materials science, environmental science, chemistry, medicine, and physics. Coupled with a high data throughput and fast time-resolved measurement capabilities, these instruments enable an efficient use of the high intensity and high brilliance APS X-ray source. Some of the beamlines have provided examples of their data.

Beamline Experiments Energy range (keV) Q range* (1/A) Operating Group Contact Person
1-ID High Energy SAXS Simultaneous SAXS/WAXS 50-100 0.005 - 0.4 & 1-10 XOR Jon Almer, 630-252-1049, Almer@aps.anl.gov
5-BM High Energy SAXS 5-65
8-20 with focusing
0.008 - 20 DND Qing Ma, 630-252-0229, q-ma@northwestern.edu
5-ID

Simultaneous SAXS/WAXS
Windowless sample changer
Polymer stress-strain (Instron)
DSC (Linkam)
solution scattering

5-19 0.001 - 5 DND Steven Weigand, 630-252-0623, weigansj@northwestern.edu
8-ID-E GISAXS and GIWAXS,
Reflectivity

7.35 keV or 12 keV (generally fixed at 7.35 keV)

GISAXS 0.005-0.25
GIWAXS 0.01 - 2.0
Reflectivity <0.2

XSD-TRR

Joseph Strzalka, 630-252-0283,
strzalka@aps.anl.gov
Zhang Jiang, 630-252-3118, zjiang@aps.anl.gov

8-ID-I Small-angle XPCS. SAXS and time-resolved SAXS by collaboration only. 6 - 12.5 keV (generally fixed at 7.35 keV) 0.001-0.15 XSD-TRR

Alec Sandy, 630-252-0281, asandy@anl.gov and
Suresh Narayanan, 630-252-0287, sureshn@aps.anl.gov

12-BM SAXS, Solution scattering 5 - 23 keV 0.008 - 1 XSD-CMS Sungsik Lee, 630-252-7491, sungsik@aps.anl.gov
12-ID-B simultaneous SAXS/WAXS, bioSAXS, Grazing incidence SAXS, solution scattering 7 - 14 keV 0.003 - 2.8 XSD-CMS

Byeongdu Lee, 630-252-0395, blee@aps.anl.gov
Xiaobing Zuo, 630-252-1553,
zuox@aps.anl.gov

12-ID-C SAXS/WAXS, ASAXS, Grazing incidence SAXS, Time-resolved SAXS 4.5 - 36 keV 0.006 - 2.0 XSD-CMS Soenke Seifert, 630-252-0391, seifert@anl.gov
9-ID

USAXS (1-D or 2-D), SAXS, WAXS, Anomalous USAXS, USAXS Imaging, USAXS-XPCS

7 - 18 (Si 220), 21-24keV (Si 440)

USAXS 0.00003 - 3

XSD-CMS

Jan Ilavsky, 630-252-0866, ilavsky@anl.gov
usaxs.xray.aps.anl.gov
18-ID SAXS/WAXS, static and time-resolved, Biological samples, solutions, 2D focused beam 3.5 - 40 0.002 - 3.0 BioCAT Tom Irving, 630-252-0524, irving@biocat1.iit.edu
* Approximate Q ranges are given, depending on conditions; contact the beamline for more information